Robertson Brothers - Symmetry

Robertson Brothers – Symmetry

81 / 100

Following in the best footsteps of a long line of Australian vocal acts comes a trio from Sydney aptly named the Robertson Brothers.

Written by: gdmonline

ARTIST: Robertson Brothers
ALBUM: Symmetry
SERIAL: 74321220652
YEAR: 1994
CD REISSUE: Discogs Reissue List

LINEUP: Geoff Robertson – vocals, keyboards production * Stuart Robertson – vocals * Ben Robertson – vocals, drum programming

Additional Musicians: Don Potter – acoustic guitar * Dann Huff, Louis Shelton, Phil Buckle, Rex Goh – Electric guitar * Jeff Bartolomei, Phil Buckle, Peter Toombs, Phil Naish, Rajan Kamal – keyboards * Ian Belton, Michael Rhodes, Peter Toombs, Phil Scorgie – bass * Eddie Bears, Paul Kneipp – drums * Tom Roady – percussion * Phil Buckle, Stuart Johnson – drum programming * Graham Jessie – saxophone

TRACK LISTING: 01 Don’t Lie Down * 02 Send A Message * 03 Winter In America * 04 River Of Fire * 05 In Your Eyes * 06 I Know Why * 07 Can’t Cry Hard Enough * 08 All Of My Life * 09 This Tide * 10 When Somebody (Loves Somebody) * 11 Circus



Following in the best footsteps of a long line of Australian vocal acts comes a trio of brothers from Sydney aptly named the Robertson Brothers. This album has got ‘big time’ written all over it, in fact most of the album was recorded in Nashville, with the remainder recorded locally in Sydney.

The music is great melodic AOR and calls upon influences such as fellow Australians Rick Price and Southern Sons, and US melodic west coast band Venice. The brothers harmony vocals at times border on stunning! There are some other special guests on the album, including guitarists Phil Buckle from Southern Sons, and Rex Goh (ex Air Supply and QED).

The Songs

From an AOR purists viewpoint, there are a couple of standout aspects one should be aware of; the great Dann Huff plays guitar on six of the tracks (those recorded in Nashville), while the other feature is a cover of Stan Meissner‘s ‘River Of Fire’ (from his 1992 ‘Undertow’ album) in which Dann appears! All the songs are catchy and singable, with memorable choruses, and the musicianship is as tight as a proverbial ducks arse! Standouts? Well there are too many. ‘Don’t Lie Down’, ‘I Know Why’, ‘All My Life’, This Tide’ and ‘Circus’ are all great moments. The latter includes some outrageous soloing from Mr Huff. Oh yes!

In Summary

Though the Robertson Brothers are a local institution in their native Australia (theme song to the TV series ‘Home And Away’), they are not that well known elsewhere. But I’m sure you (like me) will be astounded by the harmony vocals of these boys. Just take it from me, the whole album is great.


Entire Album (Select Tracks)

Don't Lie Down

Contact Us | Edit User Profile | Using a VPN

What is your rating for the album (music)?

Click on a star (click twice) to rate it!

Average rating 4 / 5. Vote count: 1

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this album..

Leave a Reply